100 Days of Happy: Day 1

I have been trying to start this blog forever, but just could not get it going.  Although we have had an amazing time on our travels so far, I just have not had the time or the inspiration to write.

Tonight it hit.

We left Campbellsville, KY to make the 3.5 hour drive to meet Mike’s family in Cincinnati, OH for a Bengals game and a short visit.  We left just before lunch, which of course means Mike is driving while Jamie is Yelp-ing to see what is within a reasonable distance from the route, that does not add too much time, where she can eat.  It’s a fun game.

I found a place that looked interesting and only took us about 15 minutes off course.  Not too bad.

versailles

As we got close I thought we must be lost.  We were in the middle of a neighborhood, there were only houses!  Where was this restaurant?  Wallace Station Deli and Bakery was located in a converted house in a random neighborhood of Versailles, KY.   It was a lovely place to stop and the food was wonderful.  It’s a rare find when everyone is excited about the food, we spend less than $30, and no one leaves hungry or disappointed!

Almost five years ago I was diagnosed with some weird food issues.  I won’t go into the whole story here, but suffice it to say that before that diagnosis, I was in tremendous pain and unable to adequately function.  Food elimination and learning a new way to eat has changed my life, but it is hard.  I cannot eat at many places, get sick from certain foods, and really am just difficult to feed.  At times, I hate it.

Today, I looked at it in a different light.  If I did not have this weird food thing, we would not find these quaint, interesting, off-the-beaten path places.  I was, probably for the first time ever, grateful for my food intolerances.

versailles3

I want to reframe my thinking: I want to focus on the positive, the happy, the things I am grateful for.  Traveling full time is amazing, but sometimes this life is hard.  There are so many things I do not know, we do not know, about what we are doing, and the learning curve is steep and expensive.

But… what we are doing is amazing.  I cannot even believe we are doing it sometimes.  It’s the stuff you dream about but never do, it’s that thing that you talk about when you drink, but then decide against when you are sober.  It’s the ideas of dreamers, but it is real.

versailles2So, I am starting this blog with 100 days of Happy.  100 days of little moments, big moments, amazing things, that make me happy or grateful.  Something every day.

100 Days of Happy, Day 1: I am thankful for my weird food issues, because they force me off the beaten path and help me find some gems!  Yummy sandwiches, homemade gluten-free bread, and a great atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

